corruption related to size of data file?

Discussions specific to Windows version of AceMoney
Post Reply
pantalone
Posts:2
Joined:Tue Jan 15, 2013 1:15 am
Location:USA
corruption related to size of data file?

Post by pantalone » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:59 pm

Sometimes when I open my data file, large numbers of older transactions go missing. I am always able to restore from backup, but I'm forced to re-enter any transactions from the most recent session.

I have been using Ace Money for many years now, and this is a very recent problem. My data file has grown to just over 1.4 MB, and I am wondering if the problem is somehow related to the size of my data file. Has anyone else experienced this problem? Is 1.4 MB an unusually large file size? Does anyone have advice for how to archive older data without losing history of investment transactions, for example?

Thanks!

User avatar
RLebeau
Posts:274
Joined:Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:45 am
Location:California, USA
Contact:

Re: corruption related to size of data file?

Post by RLebeau » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:34 pm

pantalone wrote:Has anyone else experienced this problem?
I haven't, and I have been using AceMoney for a very long time.
pantalone wrote:Is 1.4 MB an unusually large file size?
No. My data file is just under 1 MB (900 KB) and has 12 years of data in it.
pantalone wrote:Does anyone have advice for how to archive older data without losing history of investment transactions, for example?
That is exactly what the Archive feature (File menu | Archive) is supposed to do - save old transactions to another file, and optionally delete them in the current file while preserving the current balances. Are you using the Archive feature? If so, are you saying it is losing data?
Remy Lebeau
Lebeau Software

User of AceMoney since 2004.

Post Reply