Lost Serial Number

Discussions specific to Mac OS X version of AceMoney

Lost Serial Number

Postby ppsacevt » Fri Apr 12, 2013 10:32 pm

I started AM (Mac Version) today after having paid for a license and using it since early March to find that it put me into evaluation mode. It seems to have lost the license key. Fortunately I keep such emails and was able to reenter the serial number but I a concerned that this may be symptomatic of other issues. Has anyone either windows or mac user encountered losing AM serial number?
Pete
Upgraded to a MacBook Pro with Touch bar
ppsacevt
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:30 am

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby ppsacevt » Sat Apr 13, 2013 9:11 am

For the second time in as many days when I start AM it reverts to evaluation mode and I have to enter the serial number in order to use it. It says 37 of 30 days evaluation. Why is this happening and how do I stop this from occurring?
Pete
Upgraded to a MacBook Pro with Touch bar
ppsacevt
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:30 am

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby ppsacevt » Sat Apr 13, 2013 2:04 pm

Now I am getting really annoyed. Every time I start AM it wants the serial number.. and I have not heard from AM people on how to correct this problem.

It is acting as though it cannot remember the serial number that has been entered.
Pete
Upgraded to a MacBook Pro with Touch bar
ppsacevt
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:30 am

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby BobW » Sat Apr 13, 2013 3:45 pm

It sounds to me as if the program is not saving the information, could be a problem with your system.

I don't use or know anything about Macs but in Windows there is a config.ini file with the Serial Number in it, on my copy it is located in D:\Users\UserName\AppData\Roaming\MechCAD\AceMoney so if Macs store the info in the same way and you can find that file maybe you could edit it.

The first lines in my ini file are:
[Registration]
UserName=Your Name
Computer=ComputerName
SerialNumber=Your Serial Number

Hope this helps
Bob

AceMoney on Win 7-x64 Intel 2011 Extreme Pro
BobW
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:50 am
Location: London U.K.

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby ppsacevt » Sun Apr 14, 2013 5:41 am

Bob,

Thank you for the suggestion. The Mac version is not native. It is the windows version with a wrapper to that enables it to run on OSX. One of my wish list items is that the developers create a native version. That said I found and copied config.ini for AM. The registration information has a serial number that is a VERY long string of characters. The license key sent by AM is a string of hex characters. Translating between the key AM sent and the serial number as it appears in the config file does not compute.
Pete
Upgraded to a MacBook Pro with Touch bar
ppsacevt
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2013 3:30 am

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby BobW » Sun Apr 14, 2013 12:15 pm

Long string of Chars, sounds like it is indeed the Serial number, the only other suggestion I can make is to try uninstall/reinstall of the software itself, sometimes these things help, especially seeing that no one else seems to be able to suggest anything.
Bob

AceMoney on Win 7-x64 Intel 2011 Extreme Pro
BobW
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:50 am
Location: London U.K.

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby RLebeau » Mon Apr 15, 2013 4:15 pm

BobW wrote:I don't use or know anything about Macs but in Windows there is a config.ini file with the Serial Number in it


On my Windows machine, there is no registration info in the config.ini file. The registration info is in the Registry instead, in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MechCAD\AceMoney\Registration key.
Remy Lebeau
Lebeau Software

User of AceMoney since 2004.
User avatar
RLebeau
 
Posts: 185
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:45 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby alexp » Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:45 pm

We are going to release a new version this week that will hopefully fix this issue. Only some Mac users experience this issue and it is hard to troubleshoot it. At least, this version will help us gather some additional log information to try and identify the cause.
Regards,
    Alex P.
    MechCAD Software
User avatar
alexp
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:53 pm

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby BobW » Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:17 pm

RLebeau wrote:On my Windows machine, there is no registration info in the conig.ini file. The registration info is in the Registry instead, in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MechCAD\AceMoney\Registration key.


Just had a quick look through reg and nothing in there about Registration key, this is on a Win 7x64 machine running AM 4.33.1

I don't know if it is because I keep all my User files on a different drive to th OS
Bob

AceMoney on Win 7-x64 Intel 2011 Extreme Pro
BobW
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 7:50 am
Location: London U.K.

Re: Lost Serial Number

Postby donreith » Wed May 22, 2013 1:29 pm

I'm running AceMoney 4.34 on MacOS under Crossover (the commercial version of Wine). I get the prompt to enter my serial number just about every day. Crossover lets you run regedit, which I've done & confirmed that the reg key is in the registry.

A previous post mentioned a new version that will provide additional information on the problem. If there is some logging to forward I'd be happy to do that.
donreith
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 22, 2013 1:24 pm


Return to AceMoney for Mac OS X

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests