Transaction Register Balance vs Accounts Page Balance

Discussions specific to Windows version of AceMoney

Transaction Register Balance vs Accounts Page Balance

Postby rdhoover4756 » Tue Jul 04, 2017 3:11 pm

I'm new to this forum but have been using AceMoney for sometime. Today I notice something and I can't find an answer or advice on what to do. My mortgage transaction register is spot on as to the amounts posted and the account balance. However, when I go to the Accounts page where all of my accounts are listed with their balances, the Mortgage account balance shown is not the same as the balance in the transaction register. Anybody have any thoughts on this? Thanks.
rdhoover4756
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: Transaction Register Balance vs Accounts Page Balance

Postby RLebeau » Wed Jul 12, 2017 1:09 pm

Do any of the Mortgage transactions involve splits, particularly transfers from splits?

Several years ago, I had a similar problem with my Mortgage account, and I finally tracked it down to a couple of malformed transactions that had splits which did not add up to the transaction amounts, and AceMoney was not handling that discrepancy, so it was causing calculation errors:

LWE-244-WESZ: Account balance does not match payments

After editing the affected transactions to resync the amounts, the calculations started working properly again.

I mentioned this bug in several discussions on AceMoney's Yahoo group:

Balance Error

Accounts Page Loan Balance Calculation Incorrect
(this discussion lead to the discovery of a workaround to fix the discrepancy)

Report totals don't match account totals

Bug - sold investment

I never did get a confirmation from MechCAD whether the problem was actually fixed or not.
Remy Lebeau
Lebeau Software

User of AceMoney since 2004.
User avatar
RLebeau
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:45 am
Location: California, USA

Re: Transaction Register Balance vs Accounts Page Balance

Postby rdhoover4756 » Sat Jul 15, 2017 11:32 am

Thanks for the info Remy. I did take a look at your issue you reported a few years back and my situation was slightly different. My last transaction posting to my mortgage and interest was the problem. My transaction amount and the split amounts were all correct as were entered. I did what you suggested back then of changing the transaction amount to 0.00 and then hitting split. Made no changes and hit OK. Got the note to adjust transaction amount to the splits and there you go....mortgage transaction register now agrees with the mortgage account summary page.
Hopefully my August payment will calculate correctly. Thanks again.
rdhoover4756
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jul 04, 2017 2:37 pm

Re: Transaction Register Balance vs Accounts Page Balance

Postby RLebeau » Mon Jul 31, 2017 1:18 pm

Glad it helped. I have added a comment to the earlier bug report so MechCAD is aware that it is still happening.
Remy Lebeau
Lebeau Software

User of AceMoney since 2004.
User avatar
RLebeau
 
Posts: 180
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 2:45 am
Location: California, USA


Return to AceMoney for Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron